History - Performers - Videos - Composition Contest
2011 Composition Contest Winners
Egemen KesilkiEgemen Kesikli is an emerging Turkish composer honored with numerous performances and readings across the United States, by ensembles such as the Duluth-Superior Symphony Orchestra, UT New Music Ensemble, Golden Horn Brass Quintet, the St. Olaf Band, and the Luna Nova Chamber Music Ensemble. He is the recipient of several awards including the James & Paula Nelson Young Composers Competition and the Beethoven Club - Belvedere Chamber Music Festival Composition Contest. He also had the privilege to be selected as the Minnesota Collegiate Composer of the Year in 2011. Egemen received his Bachelor of Music degree in Composition with Distinction from St. Olaf College, where he studied with Timothy Mahr and Justin Merritt. He currently attends the University of Texas Butler School of Music, where seeks his Masters degree in Composition, studying with Dan Welcher.
Roger ZareRoger Zare has been praised for his “enviable grasp of orchestration” (New York Times) and for writing music with “formal clarity and an alluringly mercurial surface.” He was born in Sarasota, FL, and has written for a wide variety of ensembles. His works have been performed across the United States by such ensembles as the American Composers Orchestra, the Minnesota Orchestra, the Sarasota Orchestra, the Omaha Symphony, the Aspen Music Festival Contemporary Ensemble, and the New York Youth Symphony. An award winning composer, Zare has received the ASCAP Nissim Prize, two BMI Student Composer Awards, the 2008 American Composers Orchestra Underwood Commission, and many other regional and national honors. He was composer in residence at the Chamber Music Festival of Lexington in 2010. Zare is currently pursuing his DMA at the University of Michigan, where he has studied with Bright Sheng, Michael Daugherty and Paul Schoenfield.

Printable Donation Form

Luna Nova Music
1794 Carr Avenue
Memphis, TN 38104 • 901-493-0958