History - Performers - Videos - Composition Contest

2010 Winners Festival Composition Contest

1st Prize
Ryan Jesperson
University of Missouri - Kansas City
"Hebdomas Squantiane [shark week]" for flute, violoncello, and piano

Ryan JespersonRyan Jesperson (b. 1981) is a composer whose music is steeped in the modern practice of blurring genres and skewing expectations.  Ryan holds degrees from Washington State University and The Hartt School, and is currently pursuing his doctorate at the University of Missouri-Kansas City where he is a Chancellor’s Doctoral Fellow.  A winner of multiple awards and prizes, most recently the 2009 British Trombone Society Composition Contest and the 2009 KC Chorale Composition Competition, Ryan’s compositions have been performed across North America and Europe, with recent performances in New York, Montreal, Sweden, Romania and the UK.  Ryan is published through Sound Music Publications, Warwick Music, and his own imprint, Jazzperson Music.  For more information please visit www.ryanjesperson.com.


2nd Prize
Tonia Ko
Eastman School of Music
"Moments" for piccolo and guitar

Tonia KoBorn in Hong Kong in 1988 and raised in Honolulu, Hawaii, Tonia Ko’s music reflects and embraces her multi-cultural upbringing. She recently completed her undergraduate degree at the Eastman School of Music, graduating with highest distinction. Her principal teachers include Robert Morris, Ricardo Zohn-Muldoon, David Liptak, and Shulamit Ran. Her compositions have been performed by ensembles including the Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra, New York Treble Singers, Hawaii Youth Opera Chorus, and the Vancouver Miniaturist Society. Her orchestral piece Afterfalls was selected for performance by theEastman Philharmonia in November 2009. In addition, the celebrated Eastman Wind Ensemble will premiere her new work in 2011. She has participated in festivals such as the American Conservatory at Fontainebleau, Brevard Music Center, UNL Chamber Music Institute and Warren Benson Forum for Creativity. Tonia is a three-time recipient of the Lois Lane Prize awarded by the Eastman composition department. This fall, she will begin her graduate studies at Indiana University, where she will also serve as the Assistant Director of the New Music Ensemble.

Printable Donation Form

Luna Nova Music
1794 Carr Avenue
Memphis, TN 38104 • 901-493-0958